The first organized meeting of the group of people who would eventually become Charter Members and first Directors of the Auctioneers Association of Ontario was held in February 1984 at the Fort Garry Hotel in Winnipeg, Manitoba during the Annual General Meeting of the Auctioneers Association of Canada. The original name of the Association was the Professional Auctioneers Association of Ontario. The name was officially changed to the Auctioneers Association of Ontario (A.A.O.) on June 21, 1988.

Charter Members and Directors:

The Charter Members and first Directors of the AAO were as follows:

Les Brittan, Gerald Cryderman, Hugh Filson, Alicia Gordon, Barry Gordon, Barry Gray, Richard Lobb, Patrick Lyon, Raymond Pease, Harry Riley, Frank Stapleton

Secretary/Treasurers and Executive Directors:

The following persons have served as Secretary-Treasurer or Executive Director:

Alicia Gordon 1984 – 1985, Joyce Norris 1986 – 1996, Judy Snowden 1996 – 1997, Bob Campbell 1997 – 2001, Judie McLauchlin 2001 – 2005, Ken McGregor 2005 – 2021 and Bonnie Nadalin 2021 to 2022, Allyssa Savage 2022 to 2023, Anna Fierling 2023 to Present.


The Director of the Board of the A.A.O. sits on a committee in order to serve the needs of the members who come from all corners of Ontario. The Board meets about nine times a year to hear reports from each of the committees and to discuss future plans.

The following lists the set-up of the Board committees:

Financial Resources, Human Resources, Legal and Legislation, Convention & Competition Chair & Convenor, Program, Competition, Site Selection, News Magazine, Communications, Membership, Dispute Resolution.

The Annual General Meeting of the A.A.O. is typically held during the annual convention.

Convention 2025

Will be held in the Stratford Region More details to follow…

Read More

Latest News

Our Sponsors

Contact The AAO